Board of Fire & Police Commissioners

Regular Meetings
The Batavia Board of Fire & Police Commissioners meets on a monthly basis on the first Tuesday of every month. The Board meets at 5:00 p.m. in the Batavia Police Department 2nd Floor Conference Room located at the Batavia Government Center, 100 North Island Avenue, Batavia, Illinois.

All regular meetings are open to the public.

The following is the schedule for 2016:

January 5, 2016 May 3, 2016 September 6, 2016
February 2, 2016 June 7, 2016 October 4, 2016
March 1, 2016 July 5, 2016 November 1, 2016
April 5, 2016 August 2, 2016 December 6, 2016

Special Meetings
Special meetings shall be open and notice thereof to be posted 48 hours prior to convening.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Current Commissioners are as follows:
  • Nancy Vance, Chairman
  • Dennis Anderson, Secretary
  • Laura Newman, Commissioner

The Board of Fire and Police Commissioners consists of 3 members who are appointed by the Mayor of the City and who voluntarily serve for a term of 3 years. The purpose of the board shall be to appoint all officers of the fire and police departments of the City of Batavia. The board shall make rules to carry out the purpose for appointments and removals in accordance with the provisions of the Illinois Compiled Statutes. The board shall also conduct testing for the appointment of officers to the fire and police departments as well as promotional testing. Testing for entry-level positions is conducted every 2 years. Promotional testing is conducted every 3 years. The board may also, when required, conduct hearings reference disciplinary actions taken against an officer by the department.

Board Duties
The board shall have such other powers and duties as are given it by the statutes of the state of Illinois or by ordinance.