Household Hazardous Waste

Front Door Collection Service

Residents can schedule a front door pickup of household hazardous waste by calling U.S. Ecology at 866-373-8357 between 6 a.m. and 3 p.m. Monday through Friday or by emailing Curbside Pickup.  If calling outside these hours, please leave a voicemail and your call will be returned. 

Participation is limited to about 22 households per month and will be available only to residents within the Batavia City limits. Residents may be placed on a waiting list if all slots are full for a particular month. The program is funded by a fee collected from the City’s refuse contractor, so there is no direct fee to the resident. People outside the City limits will be directed to the Naperville HHW site. Batavia has partnered with Kane County, which will be administering the program. 

Residents can schedule one home collection per year to dispose of paint (oil-based paints, stains, varnishes only – see options below for latex paint), pesticides, fertilizers, household chemicals, cleaners, auto fluids (excluding motor oil - see options below), fluorescent lights, and more. Residents are encouraged to work with their neighbors whenever possible to fill the collection bag to the 70-pound maximum weight limit.  

Once an appointment has been finalized, a 30-gallon bag and kit with labels and instructions will be mailed to the resident.  Maximum allowable weight per collection is 70 pounds.  The company will call the resident the day before collection with a reminder to place the full bag on the porch or driveway for pickup. 

In order to keep costs down and serve as many residents as possible within budget, certain items are not accepted through this collection program because there are options in the community for recycling.  Please drop these items off as directed in Alternate Drop-Off Options.

  1. Scott Haines

    Phone: 630-454-2421

  2. Kathy Montanari

    Administrative Assistant
    Phone: 630-454-2400

  3. Public Properties and Services Division

    Physical Address
    200 N Raddant Road
    Batavia, IL 60510

    Phone: 630-454-2400

    Hours M-F, 7 a.m.-4 p.m.
    After hours, contact the Police Non-Emergency line at 630-454-2500.

Acceptable Items

Aerosols HID (Headlight Bulbs) Non-PCB Ballast
Automotive Fluids (excluding motor oil) Household Cleaners PCB Ballast
Corrosive Acids Paint (Oil-based only) Pesticides/Herbicides
Corrosive Bases Flammable Solvents & Oils Pool Chemicals
Fire Extinguishers Resins/Glues/Adhesives Propane Cylinders
Fluorescent Bulbs Lithium Batteries (Flat button or laptop) Oxygen Cylinders
Freon Cylinders Mercury Containing Devices Smoke Detectors
Helium Cylinders Mixed Solvents & Oils     

Unacceptable Items 

Item Alternate Drop-Off Options (if applicable)
Ammunition  Riverside Sports, 26 N Bennett Street (Route 25), Geneva, 630-232-7047, call for hours
Biological/Medical Waste    N/A
Cylinders (Acetylene, Foam)    N/A
Explosive Material    N/A
MAPP Gases    N/A
Non-Residential Waste    N/A
Radioactive Material    N/A
Alkaline Batteries (AA, AAA, C, D, 6V, 9V, NiCd) Drop off at Batavia Public Works facility, 200 N Raddant Road 
Monday-Friday 7 am - 4 pm (excluding holidays).  
Use office entrance on west side of building.  
Hearing aid, watch, and car batteries are not accepted.  
Lead Acid Batteries (car, boat, sump pump) Accepted at 3 local service stations:
Batavia Citgo, 27 N Batavia Avenue (no charge)
Batavia Firestone, 351 S Randall Road (no charge)
Park & Sons Auto Repair, 403 E Wilson Street (no charge)
Motor Oil Batavia Mobil, 27 N Batavia Avenue ($1/gallon)
Batavia Firestone, 351 S Randall Road (no charge)
Park & Sons Auto Repair, 403 E Wilson Street (no charge)  
Paint (latex) Cans from latex paint can go in regular trash once paint is solidified.
Dry out with kitty litter or absorbent 
or drop off at a Kane County Recycling Event (fee applies) 
Pharmaceuticals/Meds Batavia Police Department, 100 N Island Avenue 

Drop-off Center

The Naperville Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off is one of four statewide locations (the others are Lake County, Chicago, and Rockford). The facility is currently funded in partnership by the Illinois EPA, DuPage County, Kane County, Will County, and the Cities of Aurora and Naperville.  

Location: 156 Fort Hill Drive, just north of the Naperville Public Works Department located at Fort Hill Drive and Jefferson Avenue

Hours: 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. every Saturday and Sunday (except holidays)